Rules Of Dues In Carrom Game
Table of content:
- What is due in carrom game?
- Basic rules of due in carrom game
- Situations of getting a due in carrom game
Carrom is a popular indoor tabletop game which is generally played by two or four people. The carrom game is commonly played in a group in India often at social events with family or with friends.
We have already covered the basics of carrom game and the rules. In this article we will explain the rules regarding the due in carrom game.
Enjoy playing carrom game? Come and join GetMega its an amazing platform that lets you play with friends & family on video-chat with real money. Sounds fun, isn't it? Download the app now!
Due usually means pocketing the Striker with or without coins. ‘Due’ is a penalty term, when the player commits a foul and has to give up a coin for placing in the center. The coin given up is called ‘Due’ coin.
While many players refer to this as foul, there is a difference between a due and a foul.
Anything done contrary to what is stated specifically or implied in the carrom Laws is called a foul in carrom game is a. In case of foul, it is called ‘penalty’ coin is used. Penalty is more severe than due.
We have covered the rules of fouls in carrom game in a separate article. Please click here to read it.
While playing the carrom game, you might come across situations where you might incur a due. We will explain the basic rules of due in carrom now.
- If a due/penalty is incurred but there are no pocketed pieces to return, then the due is owed till a piece becomes available.
- If the due / penalty coin is available for placing but there isn’t sufficient space then you have to place the coin immediately when space is available.
- If such owed due coins are not placed before the next stroke is made (when space becomes available) and the opponent does not notice it then the due will be forfeited.
- In most cases, coins are placed by opponents to their advantage. In some cases, you can place the coin. The trick is to place it in such a way that it does not give an advantage to your opponent. But take care that you don’t end up committing a foul.
- While placing Due/penalty coin, you cannot hold any other coin and/or striker
- If a player places the Due / penalty coin away from the Outer Circle then he will be asked to place the coin inside the Outer Circle. Also, a foul will be declared.
- When placing the Due/ penalty coin, you must take care not to move any other coin or the Queen. If it so happens, the coin will be replaced in the original position, to the extent possible. It will be considered a Foul against the offending player as per the Laws.
- You cannot setoff a Due/ penalty coin against each other.
- You cannot place a Due/ penalty coin covering the Centre Circle wholly or partially. If you do so, you will have to rectify and a Foul will be declared against you.
- You cannot get up from your seat during the round, whether it is in your turn or your opponent’s turn. If you do so, you will lose the round by the number of your coins and/or Queen lying on the Board. If your opponent’s score of the opponent is 22 or more then only the number of coins will be deducted.
Now you have learnt the basic rules of due in carrom now. In this section, we will explain the situations where you might incur a due.
Pocketing the striker
- If you pocket the Striker only, your turn shall be lost. Also one of your coins will be taken out as due in carrom by your opponent for placing.
- If this happens due to an improper stoke, then you will lose your turn. Two of your coins will be taken out by the opponent for placing. This penalty coin is called ‘Due and foul’.
Pocketing striker and your coin
- If you pocket the Striker along with your own coin, you have to return the coin pocketed. You also have to place 1 more due coin in the centre. This placing will be done by you. However, you don't lose your turn
- If this happens due to improper strike, then you have to give the coins pocketed along with 1 due coin and 1 Penalty coin and you also lose your turn.
Pocketing striker and your opponent’s coin
- If you pocket the Striker along with your opponent’s coin, then you get to keep the coin. You have to place 1 due coin and shall lose your turn. So, number of coins remain the same.
- If the above happens by an improper stroke, the coin pocketed will be yours. But the due coin taken out is called penalty. You will lose your turn.
Pocketing striker, your coin and opponent’s coin
If you pocket the Striker , your coin and opponent’s coin then you have to return your own coins pocketed. Also you have to give a due coin but you can continue your turn. You don't have to return your opponent’s coins.
Pocketing only coins by an improper stroke
- a) If you pocket your own coin by an improper stroke, the coin pocketed along with a penalty coin is taken out for placing. You lose your turn.
- If you pocket your opponent’s coin by an improper stroke, you get to keep the coin. 1 penalty coin will be taken out for placing and you lose your turn.
Now that you know the rules of due in carrom game, Download the GetMega Carrom app now, and start playing the exciting game of carrom with your friends and family!